11th story: Back home (07.03.05 - 23.03.05)

At short sight we went back home to Germany from Dakar/Senegal on March 6th. We nearly didn’t make it! Our tickets, which we had booked online, didn’t arrive on time. But on the telephone we were told that we could board the plane with a faxed confirmation. Of course things were different when we wanted to check in. Luckily the captain of this flight was quite helpful and 20 minutes before departure we were allowed to board the plane.

What a hassle!

The next morning we got a warm welcome including a breakfast from our friend Susanne at the Frankfurt airport. At noon we continued on to Hamburg. During our visit we stayed at Franziska’s mother’s house in Bad Oldesloe, conveniently situated between Hamburg and Lübeck.
Our main reason for coming home was the fact that Hendrik had to get his routine medical checkups because of his diabetes. All his results were good, though. But on March 18th the dentist had to pull a wisdom-tooth. We also managed to exchange some of the equipment respectively buy some new things. We would like to thank all our sponsors once again!

Though it was quite hectic during these two weeks we really enjoyed seeing our friends and our families and also enjoyed eating our favourite food again. But two weeks are enough now and we are anxious to be on our bikes again.

11. Bericht: Heimaturlaub (07.03.05 bis 23.03.05)

Kurzfristig sind wir am 6. März von Dakar/Senegal nach Deutschland geflogen. Beinahe wären wir gar nicht mitgekommen! Da unsere online gebuchten Flugtickets nicht mehr rechtzeitig aus Deutschland angekommen waren, hatte man uns telefonisch zugesichert, dass wir mit einer Faxbestätigung einchecken können. Vor Ort sah dann alles anders aus. Glücklicherweise hat dann der Kapitän des Fluges sich der Problematik angekommen, so dass wir dann 20 Minuten vor Abflug doch noch einchecken konnten!

Das war knapp!

Am nächsten Morgen hat uns unsere Freundin Susanne in Frankfurt mit einem Frühstück in Empfang genommen. Mittags ging es dann weiter nach Hamburg. Unser Quartier haben wir strategisch zwischen Hamburg und Lübeck bei Franziskas Mutter in Bad Oldesloe bezogen.

In erster Linie sind wir ja nach Hause geflogen, weil Hendrik dringend seine Routineuntersuchungen wegen der Diabetes machen musste. Glücklicherweise waren die Ergebnisse alle gut. Allerdings musste ihm am 18. März noch ein Weisheitszahn gezogen werden! Auch unsere Ausrüstung konnten wir austauschen bzw. neu besorgen. An dieser Stelle noch einmal vielen Dank an all unsere Sponsoren!

Trotz all der Hektik haben wir es sehr genossen, Freunde und Familie zu sehen, und auch mal wieder unsere Lieblingsspeisen zu essen. Zwei Wochen reichen aber nun auch, und wir können es kaum erwarten, endlich wieder auf unseren Rädern zu sitzen.